Twitter Phantom Unfollow Bug

Noticed something strange when viewing a twitter page on the iPhone mobile view. There was a blue oval-looking button on the screen:

Image

When I clicked on it, I was shown a dialogue window asking me if I wanted to unfollow the account I was viewing. This was completely unexpected. As can be seen in the image above and the image below, I’m not signed into Twitter. So how can I unfollow someone, if I’m not even signed into an account?!?

Image

On click of Unfollow, the Sign in screen is presented to the user.

Image

The correct user behavior would be to not show a button to unfollow if the user is not signed in. If anything, the user should see a Follow button that should activate Sign in on click if the user is not signed in.

iOS Bug: Cannot Delete Contact From “Text Message” View

In an earlier post, I wrote about how a user cannot delete a contact on their iPhone if they edit the contact details while entering from the Favorites view. Today, I discovered that the same bug (feature?) also exists if you attempt to edit the contact details while entering from the Text Message view. 

Suppose you are text messaging with a friend:

Image

And if for whatever reason (say your friend is no longer responsive [insert sad face]) you want to delete this friend from your contact list. The logical thing to do would be to click on the Contact button to view and edit contact details. On click, you will see: 

Image

By clicking Edit, you will see: 

Image

And if you scroll down all the way – similar to the behavior of entering via the Favorites view, you will not see a Delete Contact button:

Image

iOS Bug: Cannot Delete Contact From “Favorites” View

Noticed some interesting behavior related to iPhone contacts. While viewing a particular contact details as initiated from the “Favorites” section, it is not possible to delete the contact. However, while viewing the same contact from the main contact list, it is possible to delete the contact. 

Let’s start with the typical use case. Start with a contact who is on your list of Favorites. Click on the Contacts icon and search for this contact amongst all contacts. Click on the contact to view details. Note the highlighted “Contacts” icon toward the bottom center of the image below:

Image

Click on the edit button in the top right corner to see this: 

Image

If you scroll all the way down, you will see the big red rectangular button to delete the contact:

Image

Let’s now look at this contact’s details from the Favorites view:

Image

Click on the arrow to see details:

Image

Click on edit to see:

Image

Scroll all the way to the bottom and you will NOT see the big red rectangular delete button!!

Image

 

Update: 7×7 Home Page Uses “+” and Not “AND”

In an earlier post, I wrote about the 7×7 mobile footer. Specifically, how there is an inconsistency with the last menu option as compared with the others. To recap, “TRIPS AND TRAVEL” used the word “AND” to join the two topics instead of a “+”. 

Today, I discovered that this is definitely a mistake as their main web site uses a “+” to join the same two topics:
Image 

iOS Update All Apps Bug (iOS Version 5.1)

Bug description: When going through the “Update All” flow in the iOS App Store, when the user hits the cancel key on the Apple ID login prompt, the user can no longer update their apps in flow. 

Steps to reproduce & actual results:

1. Go to the App Store when you have multiple Apps that need to be updated (note that this bug may also exist for the use case where only one app needs to be updated)
2. Click on the Update All button 

Image

3. On the Apple ID login screen, do not enter a password, and click cancel:

Image

4. You will be brought back to the previous page, BUT the Update All button has now been disabled. 

Image

Expected behavior: The Update All button should remain enabled.