Noticed something strange after wrapping up a post on this blog the other day. After clicking on the “Publish Post” button on the “New Post==>Write a Post” page the page displayed a confirmation message as well as a link to view the new post. So far, this was expected. The weird thing I noticed was that, in addition to the in-page confirmation, the main call-to-action – the “Publish Post” button was still enabled on the page. So I asked myself the question, “what happens if I click on this button?”
Here’s what happens end-to-end:
1. Here is a sample test post I typed up to capture this experience. Step 1 is clicking on the “Publish Post” call to action.
2. The confirmation is this page. As can be seen, the “Publish Post” button in the bottom right corner is still visible and enabled.
3. I opened up a new browser tab and visited the main blog page: http://azadzahoory.com. As can be seen below, the recently completed post is shown at the top.
4. Going back to the new post confirmation page, I’m tempted to click on the “Publish Post” button one more time to see what would happen. Well, wouldn’t you know it, it publishes the post again!
5. Back to http://azadzahoory.com we go, and we see this ridiculousness:
What should WordPress.com do on this confirmation page? Simply put, the “Publish Post” button needs to be removed (along with the “tags” field in the bottom left) after a post has been published.
And now, I will click on “Publish Post”. <click>